Monday, July 5, 2010

Nonfiction Monday: The Fabulous Feud of Gilbert and Sullivan by Jonah Winter, illustrated by Richard Egielski

This picturebook biography of Gilbert and Sullivan focuses on the events leading up to the creation of the Mikado. It shows the very different characters of the two men as well as filling in the background of historical London. Winter also adds in information on how the two men composed and created their operas and the reception of Mikado. An author's note explains a little more about the two men, their operas, and the popularity they continue to enjoy today. One website, The Gilbert and Sullivan Archive, is listed as a resource.

Egielski's illustrations give the book a verve and life with his toylike art and stylized backgrounds. A close observer can follow several characters through the pictures as they take on different roles.

An intriguing and charming book for fans of G & S

Verdict: Pretty, but I've sworn to buy no more picture book biographies for my library. They don't circulate and do nothing to improve my wretched biography collection, since the only patrons who want biographies are kids writing reports and they all have to be 100 pages at least.


ISBN: 978-0439930505; Published April 2009 by Arthur A. Levine; Borrowed from the library

2 comments:

Rasco from RIF said...

Sounds like a good gift book for a child I know who loves music and musicals! Thank you.

Jennifer said...

Oh yes, you should definitely introduce them to Gilbert and Sullivan! They're hilarious and the music is very catchy!