Sunday, August 24, 2014

RA RA READ: Quick Reads for Teens (novels in verse)

Teens have a much more enthusiastic reception for novels in verse than middle grade kids. The general audience is girls who are fans of Ellen Hopkins and other heart-wringing books. A lot of reluctant readers will pick these up because they go by fast and they're very dramatic and draw you into the story instantly. So I try to stay away from the more literary novels in verse because they really don't circulate much (if at all). These are some that we do have that are very popular:
  • Ellen Hopkins
  • Sonya Sones
  • Shark girl by Kelly Bingham
  • Because I am furniture by Thalia Chaltas
    • This is the perfect read-alike for Ellen Hopkins and I'm surprised more people don't know about it
  • T4 by Ann LeZotte
  • After the kiss by Terra McVoy
  • Glimpse by Carol Lynch Williams
    • This is a good read-alike for Ellen Hopkins as well
  • Safekeeping by Karen Hesse (this isn't a novel in verse, it's more a novel in photographs, but the same fan base really, really likes it)

No comments: