Sunday, April 10, 2016

RA RA Read: Wimpy Kids and Notebook Novels

Love them or hate them, Diary of a Wimpy Kid is still going strong. I recently had to haul all our extra copies out of storage because of a sudden, inexplicable demand. I am, personally, not a fan - as I tell kids, if Greg came into my library I'd probably kick him out. Now Big Nate is different - he's a good kid at heart and I'd give him another chance. Anyways.

Wimpy Kid and similar books are sometimes called "notebook novels". They are often written in diary or journal format and include comic panels and/or illustrations, usually in a style that looks hand-drawn. Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney is still being published and I regularly replace the titles, since the paper over board format does not stand up to the heavy usage. On the other hand, they're cheaper than a regular hardback so....

The most popular read-alikes for Wimpy Kid at my library are:

  • Dork Diaries by Renee Russell
    • The main character is a girl, but both girls and boys read this series avidly
  • Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce
    • Includes both comic strip collections and notebook novels. Parents who dislike the attitudes in Wimpy Kid will usually prefer Big Nate.

Notebook novel series (middle grade)
  • Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger
  • Kate the Great by Suzy Becker
  • Clueless McGee by Jeff Mack
  • Middle School by James Patterson
  • Classroom by Robin Mellom
  • Doodlebug by Karen Young
  • Qwikpick papers by Tom Angleberger
  • Timmy Failure by Stephen Pastis
Notebook novel series (younger middle grade)
  • Stick Dog by Tom Watson
  • Hank Zipzer by Henry Winkler
  • Ellie McDoodle by Ruth Barshaw
  • Bea Garcia by Deborah Zemke
Graphic novels
  • Amelia Rules by Jimmy Gownley
  • Middle School is worse than meatloaf by Jennifer Holm
  • Smile (and sequels) by Raina Telgemeier
  • Babymouse by Jennifer Holm
  • Sunny Side Up by Jennifer Holm
  • Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
Novels with a wimpy sense of humor and minimal or no illustrations

  • Max Quigley, technically not a bully by James Roy
  • I am an evil genius and I want to be your class president by Josh Lieb
  • Milo: Sticky Notes and Brain Freeze by Alan Silberberg
  • Nerd Camp (and sequel) by Elissa Weissman
  • Dear Dumb Diary by Jim Benton
  • Beanboy by Lisa Harkrader
  • Jeremy Bender vs. the Cupcake Cadets by Eric Luper
  • Pickle by Kimberley Baker
  • Heartbreak Messenger by Alexander Vance

No comments: